School apps
For students

For parents
Main menu

Art, Craft and Design

GCSE Art, Craft and Design

Examination board: AQA

The qualification features a wide range of titles including Art, craft and design, Fine art, Graphic communication, Textile design, Three-dimensional design and Photography. 

Students will complete these distinctive units of work: 

  • Introductory unit of Still Life and Identity (Year 10) 
  • Nature Transformed (Year 10) 
  • Final Major Project (Year 11) 
  • Externally set assignment (Year 11) 

All the units are marked in the same way using 4 assessment objectives summarised briefly here: 

  • AO1 Develop ideas through sustained investigations, demonstrating critical understanding of sources.
  • AO2 Refine work by exploring ideas, selecting and experimenting with appropriate media, materials, techniques and processes.
  • AO3 Record ideas, observations and insights relevant to intentions as work progresses.
  • AO4 Present a personal and meaningful response that realises intentions and demonstrates understanding of visual language.

You can support your child in their Art GCSE by showing an interest in their creativity and pieces of art. You can also take them or encourage them to visit galleries and exhibitions, there are lots of excellent galleries local to Leeds and Bradford, and I have listed a few links in the Useful Website section below.